camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Favorite films of 2016

leave a comment »

I’ve seen some good movies this year, a few I would consider “great”, but none have really stood out over the others. I guess I would say that, so far, I’ve been a bit underwhelmed. Well, maybe not “under”… just “whelmed”. Not overly impressed. Granted, there’s a lot being released this time of year, and it will likely take me a few months to get through them. Anyway, here’s what I’ve liked so far…

d3ccfcf8-48c5-11e6-be36-c96661a2deb1-1020x680

“Captain Fantastic”

I really liked Michael Moore’s latest documentary “Where to Invade Next”, the 1991 Studio Ghibli animated film “Only Yesterday” (whose English-language release in the U.S. occurred just this year), the excellent sci-fi think piece “Arrival”, the alt-family Robinson road trip tale “Captain Fantastic”, the 5-episode 8-hour long EPSN doc series “OJ: Made in America” and the Netflix series “Stranger Things”.

160607_tv_oj-made-in-america-jpg-crop-promo-xlarge2

“OJ: Made in America”

(though really, who didn’t like “Stranger Things”?)

I also liked “The Witch”, “Midnight Special”, “The Nice Guys”, Werner Herzog’s Netflix-produced doc “Into the Inferno”, “Henry Gamble’s Birthday Party”, “Hell or High Water” and “Rogue One”, which I just saw tonight.

55708a727bae9-image

“Henry Gamble’s Birthday Party”

Other films I enjoyed: “10 Cloverfield Lane”, the career-spanning doc “De Palma”, “Doctor Strange”, “Don’t Breathe”, “Everybody Wants Some”, “High Rise”, “Indignation”, “Into the Forest”, “Louder than Bombs”, “The Shallows”, “Sing Street”, “Swiss Army Man”, “The Lobster”, “The Program” and “Zootopia”.

309e3ec36338914c398503ce8f456e4635d73668

“Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem”

I was disappointed by “Batman vs. Superman” (I watched the torturous 3-hour long director’s cut), “Knight of Cups” and “The Neon Demon”. Netflix’s “I Am The Pretty Thing That Lives in the House” was so boring, I had to stop watching before the first hour was over. I watched “Hardcore Henry” and I can’t recommend it other than to people who like watching other people play video games.

the-witch-anya-taylor-joy

“The Witch”

I saw a number of ‘blockbusters’ this year — “Captain America: Civil War”, “Ghostbusters”, “Star Trek Beyond”, “The Legend of Tarzan” — but the one I would recommend would be the live action “The Jungle Book”.

ms-fp-016-0-2000-0-1125-crop

“Midnight Special”

My film list has been heavily marked up in red, both crossing off titles and writing in ones that were impromptu watches. I’d wager I watched about 200 movies this year. Given the size of films in queue with Netflix and Facets, it’s going to take me at least another year of heavy consumption before I can significantly “dial it down”.

arrival-2016-screen2

“Arrival”

Speaking of Netflix, I watched and liked the first 3 seasons of “The Fall” as well as the first 2 seasons of “Halt and Catch Fire”. Also, the first season of “Lady Dynamite” and the third season of “Bojack Horseman”. Their stop-motion CGI film “The Little Prince” was cute and enjoyable.

1007694

“Only Yesterday”

Of the older movies I’ve seen this year, I really liked “Araya”, “The Dead Lands”, “Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem”, “The Gold of Naples”, “Kings of the Road”, the 1980 PBS film “The Lathe of Heaven”, “Lianna”, “Lonely Are the Brave”, “Murder by Contract”, “On the Silver Globe” and “The World According to Garp”.

 

Written by camcarlson

December 16, 2016 at 9:57 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

