camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Movies and whatnot

leave a comment »

Haven’t written in some months. Let’s play catchup.

Still watching movies at a ridiculous pace, aided by subscriptions to Netflix (both streaming and DVDs), Facets, Hulu Plus and (for the next few weeks) a free trial membership of Amazon Prime… their selection kinda sucks, though they did let me enjoy the first season of “Veep”.

I think I found a way to con Netflix into sending me more than the 2-DVDs-at-a-time I pay for. What I did was load up my queue with over 100 titles, some of them listed as “very long wait”, and move all those to the top of my list. When they get a disc back in their hands, they find my next selection may not be available at the nearest shipping facility (which I believe is somewhere in Illinois). So they find another facility where it is available and ship it from there, emailing me a message that it may take 3-5 days to arrive (when in fact it’s usually just one extra day). In the meantime, they find the next title in my queue that is available at the nearest facility and ship that one as well. So they send me 2 titles for the price of one. Since my subscription is for 2 DVDs, it means at times I can have 4 DVDs out at a time, all thanks to their overly generous customer service.

Anyway, since my last entry (sadly, the only other one I’ve written this year), I’ve been trying to play catchup with a number of 2014 titles. The ones I saw and really liked include the Australian horror film “The Babadook”, Jon Stewart’s directorial debut “Rosewater” and the paintbrush anime “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”. I liked “The Theory of Everything” but it wasn’t interesting enough that I feel I’d ever want to see it again. Ditto for “Whiplash”, though it’s story was a bit more compelling. I also saw “The Overnighters”, “Open Windows”, “Foxcatcher”, “A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night” and “Young Ones”.

I still haven’t seen “Selma”, “Love is Strange”, “Inherent Vice” and a few others… they’ll have to fight their way into my summer schedule.

So far this year I’ve only seen a few movies in the theater and only two of them were worth recommending: “Ex Machina” and “Mad Mad: Fury Road”.

szene-aus-ex-machina-100-v-varxl414755

Recommendations for the following services:

Netflix — “In America”, “The Innkeepers”, “Letter from an Unknown Woman”, “Panic in the Streets”, “Passing Strange”, Yukio Mishima’s “Patriotism”, “Ronin Gai”, “Round Midnight”, “The Two of Us” and the early Wim Wenders film “The Wrong Move”.

Facets — Another early Wenders film “The American Friend”, “The Execution of Private Slovik”. Roman Polanski’s 1971 version of “Macbeth” and the 1928 silent film “The Wind”,

Hulu Plus — “The Challenge” (really neat 30s films about the climbing of the Matterhorn) along with hundred of Criterion films, and a bunch of older television shows like “Strangers with Candy”, “The State”, “Ren & Stimpy”, “Reno 911!”… because who has time to watch TV shows?

Actually, we did binge-watch the first four seasons of “The Walking Dead” — great show —  as well as the third season of “House of Cards”, which I did not find as interesting as the first or second seasons.

So there’s that.

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.44.37 PM

But hey! My life has not just been watching flickering images on a screen.

Viet and I got hitched in January (!!!) and we’ve begun the arduous process of applying for his permanent residency.

We spent our delayed honeymoon road-tripping down to New Orleans and Pensacola. In lieu of the bullet point entry I wrote for last year’s Yellowstone trip, I’ll condense our six days on the road to these six points:

1. I-55 through Mississippi is very beautiful, whereas the I-55 overpass by Lake Maurepas is a seemingly endless white-knuckle hellscape.

2. The French Quarter can be surveyed by foot in less then 4 hours; aside from that and the nearby historical cemeteries (which we were warned not to visit unless we paid to be in a tour group, lest we end up mugged and/or stabbed), I can’t conceive of wanting to go back unless I was there with someone who knew the city.

3. Within the French Quarter are the French Market and the Cafe Du Monde. Both are tourist traps. Avoid at all costs. Especially the cafe — it’s actually a chain, and you can find them all around the city (for example: across the street from the Hilton we stayed at) and they serve the exact same coffee and beignets as the original in the FQ.

4. There’s a neat tunnel on I-10 that takes you underneath downtown Mobile.

5. Pensacola Beach is nice and all, but if you’re willing to drive a bit further, turn left onto Fort Pickens Road and pay the $8 entry fee for the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Miles of deserted beaches, fine white sand, warm southerly breeze, green water and pelicans flying overhead. I figure the entry fee also keeps the riffraff out (like the noisy, obnoxious college kids getting drunk on St. Patty’s Day). At the very tip of the island is Fort Pickens itself, which offers guided and self tours.

6. Cutting through the Appalachian Mountains in Tennessee is fun. Getting stuck in multiple bouts of gridlock on I-24 within Nashville and just north of the city is not fun.

Here’s a fun fact: with an average elevation of -1.5 feet below sea level, New Orleans is the lowest city in the western hemisphere with a population over 250,000.

IMG_6470

Anyway…

Viet graduated earlier this month and just last weekend the government sent paperwork allowing him to go out and get a job. So between now and when he finds something, we’re planning another within-the-midwest road trip, something we could pull off over a 3-day weekend.

Been bicycling more this year. About a hundred hours in so far this spring.

Work keeps me busy. Get to the office before 7 and usually leave at 4:30, if not later.

Things continue to move in and out of the apartment. After graduation, Viet simplified his bookshelf and sold or donated a lot of books, and tossed out a lot of paperwork. Seems like every week a new plant finds its way onto a windowsill or out on our patio (ornamental cabbage and web cacti being the latest acquisitions). Picked up a much-needed coffee table for free and our new couch should arrive in a few weeks.

And that’s about it for now. Enjoy a picture from yesterday’s road trip to Maquoketa Caves State Park.

IMG_8283

Written by camcarlson

June 7, 2015 at 10:02 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

