camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Huff & puff

leave a comment »

Went running for the first time in who knows how long. A month, at least. I honestly don’t think I’ve attempted more than 2-3 miles more than once this calendar years. And today’s output shows it. I somehow managed 2 miles in 20 minutes, which includes a couple 30-second spurts of walking to let my lungs purge themselves of the sulphuric acid that was building up. Man, I’m definitely out of cardiovascular shape! But still, 2 miles in about 20 minutes put me somewhere in the vicinity of a 30-minute-or-less 5K time, which is faintly reassuring.

On another note, I really dislike how the gym I go to has 10 high-tech touch-screen treadmills, and at any given time only 2 or 3 of them actually work. A few will always be turned off, a couple will have some red-text error message scrolling across the screen, and a couple more will appear fine but will be completely unresponsive to my fingers. If I’m lucky, I will get to the gym during that brief afternoon window when very few others are there, so one of the lucky working treadmills will be open, but otherwise I have to kick it with the elliptical machines (groan).

Once I overheard a staff member (some teeny bopper know-it-all) complain after another member (a middle age woman) mentioned the chronic un-working condition of most treadmills; the staff member whined “why don’t they just ask us to reset whichever machine doesn’t work?” To which I thought to myself “um, why don’t the machines just work?!?” These stupid touch-screen models are what replaced the tried-and-true button treadmills that served with honor at the old gym location further down on Main St for several years. These new models have been in service for about a year and already I can tell it’s driven away some members who used to be regulars.

I guess I should just not care about it — spring is upon us and pretty soon it will be warm enough to run outside (so long as the snow and ice is finally melted off the nature trails). At which point I will only use the gym to lift weights 2-3 times a week and occasionally get in some cardio when the weather is nasty.

Written by camcarlson

March 27, 2014 at 10:34 PM

Posted in Running

Leave a Reply

