camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Autumn Tiger Lamentations

with 2 comments

It’s not that I don’t have anything to say, but that I never find the ‘right’ time to sit down and write. Trust me when I say life is very good right now… but there’s always something to carp about. That’s what a blog is for, after all!

I lament the current state of movies, coupled with the current state of the corporate theater distribution model. Nothing good comes here. I haven’t seen anything I truly liked, as in wanted to see multiple times, since “Looper” and “Cloud Atlas” last fall. That’s sad. I liked the “Evil Dead’ remake just for its sheer disgusting-ness, and thought “Mud” and “The Way Way Back” were worth watching, but otherwise the best film I’ve seen so far this year has been “Amour”, the Oscar winner for Best Foreign Language film from *last* year. So in a nutshell, I’m still waiting for quality films to come to the Cedar Valley. What else is new?

1 year ago this week I was driving to Ames to see “Lawrence of Arabia” in 4K digital. Fantastic presentation.

9 years ago this week I saw “Lost in Translation” at the AMC Oakview in Omaha NE. The most personal, touching theater experience to date. I think I’ll try to watch it this week.

>>>>><<<<<

I also lament that I’ve done little exercising since Labor Day weekend, something I intend to correct this week.

I also have added a woeful number of miles to my bicycle this year, in part because Viet is the fan of long-haul treks that I am. A few times this summer we made it through George Wyth and up the river to Big Woods Lake, but then we would stop, rest, admire the scenery, he’d take a lot of pictures, and we’d head back to my apartment. I think I’ve put in maybe 300 miles on the Raleigh, tops. But, in a way, I’m okay with that. The bike is falling apart, and it was never a good fit for me anyway, so I don’t mind *not* getting sore from 1-2 hour excursions 3-4 times a week. If I can scrounge together enough funds next spring (which will depend on if we go anywhere for spring break next year) I may buy a new bicycle.

Speaking of buying, I’m inching closer to a new car purchase. The Intrepid has served me well these past 12 years. It’s approaching 205K miles. But the exterior is in rough shape and the last time I took it in for an oil change the mechanic told me he didn’t feel comfortable having it up on the lift with all the structural rust “crunching” noises he was hearing. It won’t see another winter, that’s for damn sure. So a new set of wheels are needed.

That’s all for now. It’s 11pm and I want 6 hours of sleep before getting up at 5:25am and putting in another marathon day at the office.

 

Written by camcarlson

October 1, 2013 at 11:05 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We just bought a new car a few weeks ago as well. We finally gave up on the 2001 Chevy Prism. It *only* had 145,000 miles on it, and when I took it in for an inspection it need $500 worth of repairs to keep it running for another 1-2 years. Since the vehicle itself was worth $1400 (what I got for it in trade), I decided to put that $500 I would have spent for repairs into the down payment for a new car. We got a 2014 Honda CRV. It should make the commute from TX to IA much more comfortable and give us substantially more cargo room.

    trumpethustra

    October 12, 2013 at 2:13 PM

  2. Congrats on the new car! The CRV looks like a good model. Hope you enjoy it. If the paperwork goes through this week I should have some new car news of my own to share.

    camcarlson

    October 22, 2013 at 8:48 PM


Leave a Reply

