camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Favorite films of 2012

leave a comment »

 

I didn’t see as many movies that I loved in 2012 than I have in previous years. Has the quality of movies gone down, or are there simply fewer good movies, or maybe my preferences are changing, or maybe it’s just in this particular moment in life movies don’t factor as heavily as they once did… or maybe it’s a little bit of each. I dunno. All I know is I think back to the movies I saw and I’m hard pressed to write an obligatory ‘Top 10’ list (which partially explains my lack of writing these past couple weeks).

Beasts of the Southern Wild - 6

At any rate, I figure I better get something down in writing before my thoughts on last year’s movies become too stale. So here goes:

tumblr_meqm3get0B1r0926uo1_1280

Like usual, the early part of this year was lacking in quality films. I saw and enjoyed “The Secret World of Arrietty” and “The Avengers”, and highly recommend “Haywire” to anyone who is a fan of the Bourne films.

1280-haywire-M-100_KO_CB_00635_R_rgb

I saw “Prometheus” twice and really liked it, and made it my sole DVD purchase of the year. Having seen it two more times, I still like it, though I picked up on a few notable flaws in the plot — gaping holes, if you will — even though they don’t really bug me. I still like the movie. Quite a bit. A worthy prequel to “Alien”, even if it regrettably substitutes action and quick editing for mood and suspense. I included a video at the end of this entry that references many more “problems” with the film than what I initially noticed… but it’s still a good movie dammit!

prometheus_tv_spot_2_00019

If I had to name a favorite film from last year, and I don’t feel hard pressed to do so, I’d go with “Moonrise Kingdom”. I’ve liked every one of Wes Anderson’s movies, with the exception of “Life Aquatic”, and I think each film is better than the last (again, with the exception of “Life Aquatic”). I wrote about this charming, quirky film back in July.

moonrise-kingdom-1

A number of good films came out in the fall: “Looper” and “Cloud Atlas” (making 2012 a fantastic year for science fiction), “Beasts of the Southern Wild”, “Argo” and “Lincoln”. I also rented and liked “A Separation” (last year’s Oscar winner for Best Foreign Language film), “ParaNorman” and “Weekend”.

looper

Good films this winter include “The Hobbit” (though it was WAY too long), “Django Unchained” (not nearly as good as Tarantino’s 2009 film “Inglorious Basterds”) and “Zero Dark Thirty” (not nearly as good as Bigelow’s 2009 film “The Hurt Locker”). Over New Years I saw “Surviving Progress”, which dovetailed nicely with “No Impact Man”… two films I will try really hard to write about in the near future.

Movies I have heard good things about and am waiting to see include “The Master”, “In The Family”, “The City Dark”, “Flight” and “Amour”, the only one of this year’s Best Picture nominee I haven’t seen yet.

My apologies for not only allowing this entry to take so long to be written but for allowing it to basically fall apart at the end. What can I say… I’m busy catching up on movies on Netflix and Hulu Plus! Hey, if I’m not spending time writing about movies, at least I’m spending time watching them.

Written by camcarlson

February 6, 2013 at 10:39 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

