camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Resolutions for 2013

leave a comment »

Tonight ends my 10-day* vacation from work. Ten short, cold days mostly spent indoors with Viet, constantly running to Hy-Vee to buy food, seeing various friends for seemingly short bursts of time (1-2 hours tops) and watching a variety of movies (including the 2010 restoration of “Metropolis”, “Santa Sangre” and “The Last Laugh”) and episodes of “30 Rock” and “Merlin”. I caught up on my sleep, ate far too much junk food and didn’t get nearly as much done as I had hoped… so in other words, another typical holiday vacation.

NYE was spent at Cory’s parents’ house with him, Cara, Viet and Swestka. We sat at the living room table and played Farkle, Last Word, Up and Down the River, Sequence and Rummikub, with episodes of “Pawn Stars” playing in the background. We took a quick break at midnight to catch the ball drop and down some cheap champagne.

So here is 2013. I achieved last year’s major goal of paying off my student loans (on Black Friday; I didn’t want to write about it until I received written confirmation from the loan servicer but it appears they didn’t mail it until Dec 23, so may as well break the news now). This year’s major resolution/goal is to either save up for a new car or relocate to a city where I could get buy without one. Once that decision is out of the way, I can *finally* focus on traveling! Otherwise, same as last year — for the immediate future (Jan/Feb) I’m just going to keep my head down, work my ass off, keep up at the gym, whittle away at my winter to-do list and try to spend as little money as possible. Stay tuned…..

[*excepting a six-hour workday on Xmas Eve.]

Written by camcarlson

January 1, 2013 at 7:16 PM

Posted in Cinema, Finance

Leave a Reply

