camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Xmas 2012

leave a comment »

I’m smack dab in the middle of a 10-day vacation from work, aside from a brief 6-hour layover at work on Monday — more like an appearance than actual work. I’ve spent my time trying to catch up on my sleep (with limited results), eating far more than I should, watching a few good movies (though I could be watching more) and generally being a lazy loaf. A blizzard rolled through last Thursday and left about a foot of snow on the ground, an annoying layer of frozen snow & ice on the roadways and a chill in the air. This has led to the vast majority of my time being spent indoors.

With my time off I have finished reading “Carter Beats the Devil” and have seen “Les Miserables” which I was surprised in that I liked it more than I thought I would, as I normally don’t go for musicals. Also saw “Forbidden Games” on Hulu, a 1950s French film about how young children cope with warfare. I have a couple more films from Ebert’s Great Movies list to watch before next week, when I perform my annual update & purge of my film list, and at some point I’d like to see “Django Unchained” and “Zero Dark Thirty”, though the latter isn’t likely to come here until January.

Before I left work last Friday I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish with my time off. Things like clearing out my long list of internet bookmarks, purging 2012 pictures from iPhoto, going to the gym for at least one hour every day, catching up on email correspondence, et cetera. So far I’m not doing a solid job on tackling this list. I’m redoubling my efforts today.

Written by camcarlson

December 26, 2012 at 8:51 AM

Posted in Cinema, Literature

Leave a Reply

