camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Running & Pedaling

leave a comment »

If I run at the gym on Fridays it’s usually for an hour and I don’t push myself to go any particular distance (though I try, and usually succeed, in covering 6 miles or a little bit more). If I run a 5K during the summer it’s usually outside and so I don’t time it and don’t know how fast I’m running. So this past Friday, as I was pressed for time and didn’t think I could squeeze in an hour run, I went all-out on a 5K on the treadmill. I ran it in 26:45, which is pretty damn good given how sporadically I run a timed 5K during the spring/summer/autumn.

On the bicycling front, I bought a new chain and installed it last Monday but it was so insufferably hot outside for most of the week I didn’t bother hitting the trails until today. But the bicycle pedals much more smoothly now. I crossed 500 miles for the year — not too impressive given I was near the 1,000-mile mark about this time a couple years back. I think I’ll get in 1,000 or upwards of 1,200 this year. And I’m fine with that, as long as the time that would be spent cycling is instead spent running or at the gym or at least reading a good book.

So, the goal for the year is to get in 1,000-1,200 miles on the Raleigh and, with some consistent effort, reduce my 5K time to below 25:00. Wishful thinking perhaps on the latter, but I like having something to aim for.

Written by camcarlson

July 8, 2012 at 10:13 PM

Posted in Bicycling, Running

Leave a Reply

