camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Summer reading

leave a comment »

Last week I read Insanely Simple by Ken Segall, a fun read about the virtues of simplicity for Apple Computers, both within its design concepts and its management style. Segall has a couple decades experience working as one of Apple’s ad men, so his insights were based on firsthand anecdotes.

I also read Overtreated by Shannon Brownlee, a fascinating analysis on the multiple ways our nation’s health care system is spiraling out of control. Brownlee’s premise is that America’s system is not making us any healthier or keeping us alive any longer than other developed nations, despite the astronomical amount of money we spend compared to other countries. The book was written in 2007, so I would love to read some follow-up after the partial implementation of ‘ObamaCare’ that has taken place thus far.

And now I’m diving right into The How of Happiness by Sonja Lyubomirsky. It’s one of the rare texts on the field of happiness based on scientific studies, and although I’m only a couple chapters into it, I already like what I’ve read. I took the happiness test in Chapter 2 and I scored about average for my age group… I think my score was down only because I had coming off of a 9-day vacation and was slightly bored by the end of it. Thankfully, I completely failed the depression test in the same chapter, which is to say I’m certifiable not depressed. Which I already knew. But it’s reassuring to be tested as such, I guess.

After I finish this book I’ll get around to checking out Moby Dick, which has been on the deck for over a month now. I guess I’m just on a nonfiction role at the moment.

Leave a Reply

