camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Brookside 777

leave a comment »

So I wanted to see if Cricket’s coverage included my neighborhood in Cedar Falls. I entered my ZIP* code into their website and was asked to choose which city I lived in.

To the best of my knowledge, Cedar Falls is the only legitimate city covered by 50613. College Square is a shopping mall, Blackhawk Village is an adjacent shopping center (whose correct title has ‘Black’ and ‘Hawk’ as separate words), and North Cedar and Cedar City refer to oft-flooded districts within Cedar Falls. But what about this Brookside?

I consulted Linda McCann’s book Lost Black Hawk County in the reference section of the Cedar Falls Library and discovered this interesting little tidbit…

 

*ZIP is an acronym for Zone Improvement Plan, though you almost never see anyone capitalize it anymore.

Leave a Reply

