camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Springtime Miscellany

with 2 comments

Before Saturday night’s Black Hawks game vs. Cedar Rapids (which we won, 6-4) I met Ben and some coworkers for dinner & drinks at Steamboat Gardens. A bottle of Schlitz set me back one dollar, the onion rings were delectable and I was served with the largest tenderloin this side of Newton’s Café. In fact, in comparison, I preferred this meal, only because to the superior quality of the fries, thought I heartily recommend either of the tasty loins to hungry diners.

The Barge + $1 bottle of Schlitz... mmm mmm good!

Newton's competitor: the Iowa Pork Loin (c. Nov 2011)

I felt the urge to watch “Drag Me To Hell” during yesterday morning’s 5K along the riverside trail. Good thing it was in stock at Family Video; during the afternoon my interest shifted to “WarGames” but they don’t have that on their shelves. This morning the flavor in my mouth was the director’s cut of “Blade Runner” but now I’m feeling more for “The Testament of Dr. Mabuse”.

But I’m actually holding out on movies until I finish reading Ready Player One tonight. It’s a pretty good novelized mash-up between 80s pop culture, “The Matrix” and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo… which reminds me, I need to read the final book in that series.

On top of all that, I spent part of the weekend converting a number of Katya’s school performances from VHS to digital video (courtesy Micah’s EyeTV) and am currently embarking on another maddening archival project. Let the good times roll!

A who's who of CFHS theater c. 1998(?)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1997 in fact! “Anne Frank” was November ’97.

    bencookfeltz

    April 23, 2012 at 2:36 PM

  2. ’97 in fact! “Anne Frank” was November 1997.

    bencookfeltz

    April 23, 2012 at 2:37 PM


Leave a Reply

