camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Reading suggestions

with 2 comments

I tend to neglect writing online when I get into a good book. It’s the end of March and I’m almost finished with my third reading of Blood Meridian, one of the few books I can see myself reading over and over as I get older. I have a few books in mind for the rest of this spring, and then I want to explore “great novels” written by American authors; Twain, Hemingway, Melville, Steinbeck, etc.

I’d like to make a list of at least 10 books, one book per author, preferably the best and/or most well-known work from each author, and only books I haven’t read before or have read before but don’t remember much about. So it would be Huckleberry Finn for Twain, The Sun Also Rises for Hemingway (which I read in high school but, alas, remember almost nothing about), and Moby-Dick for Melville. I’ve read The Great Gatsby and I don’t remember much about it, but I do remember being nonplussed by it, so I’m ruling it ineligible.

What other books should I read? Which other authors should I consider? I welcome any and all recommendations.

Written by camcarlson

March 30, 2012 at 6:29 AM

Posted in Literature

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been on a huge fantasy kick recently. Have you read the Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb? Nice series. Not what I expected when I started to read it. I’ve also recently enjoyed “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline, which is a sci-fi, futuristic novel with a ton of 80s references. Yes, you heard that right.

    Ok wait, you wanted “great American novels.” I got nothing…

    violyns

    March 30, 2012 at 11:51 PM


Leave a Reply

