camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Winter Assessment

leave a comment »

I know I resolved to write more this year, so I had better kick my own ass for not following through this first week of 2012. I also am due for a movie roundup but I want to wait and see if a couple films I’ve been eagerly anticipating come to the Cedar Valley this upcoming weekend. Whether they do or not, I’ll post something next weekend.

New Years Day I woke up in an apartment without heat. I called Al and he came over and supposedly fixed it; the radiators were warming up the place by afternoon, after I returned from lunch at Toads (bowl of chili w/ cheese and onions and a frosted glass of Blue Moon). The next morning I awoke again to a cold apartment. Same thing Tuesday, and Wednesday, and every day since. I’ve called him every day and he comes over and does whatever it is he does to get it going, but it doesn’t seem to last. A few days ago he mentioned something about the pilot light and needing to replace the boiler (the heater connected to the radiators in the three southern apartments in this building is an ancient machine in the basement). Today he said something about ordering parts; his cell phone reception was so noisy I could barely make out a word. But tonight it’s finally warming up again. Every month it’s another adventure here at the Mandalay!

On another note, I have been working out rather consistently these past couple of months. I feel like I’m in the best physical shape I’ve ever been in since high school. I could stand to lose a few more pounds but I won’t quibble over it. My diet is better than it has been since college, which isn’t unusual for people my age. I rarely eat out, save for the past couple of weeks when friends and family were in town. I go to the gym 6 days a week (more like 13 days every two weeks; I take one day every other week off). I alternate between 30-60 minutes of weightlifting (closer to 60 minutes since December) and 60 minutes of cardio. The cardio itself alternates between running on the treadmill at a slow conversational pace (usually around 5.6-6 mph) or grinding away on the elliptical machine. I still avoid the stationary bike, as though it were cursed to inflict me with leprosy. This winter has been unusually mild and we were blessed with temps in the upper fifties last week. Had I not been plagued with a cold I would definitely been bicycling on the trails those afternoons. We might see fifties again this Tuesday… if we do, you know where I’ll be.

Written by camcarlson

January 8, 2012 at 8:38 PM

Posted in Bicycling, Cedar Valley, Cinema, Running

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

