camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

10,000 pages

with 3 comments

The reading bug has bitten me hard and deep; I’ve read more books in 2011 than in any previous year. According to the page numbers provided by Wikipedia or Amazon, I have read around 9,667 pages so far this year, not counting Roger Ebert’s memoirs, which is on deck for next week. Throw in all the magazines, newspapers and websites I’ve read and I could safely bump the page estimate up to a clean 10,000.

Is a page count an accurate method for weighing my reading habits? If I went by a book count, the number would be 26 (27 with Ebert’s memoirs) and the Eschaton chapter from Infinite Jest.

I have no idea what I should proffer for a word count – a million? Ten million? Tens of millions?

Anyway, there were many good reads this year. On the fiction side I enjoyed the third and fourth Harry Potter books, the third Narnia book (The Horse and His Boy), At the Mountains of Madness and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I was underwhelmed by The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana by Umberto Eco (though I loved his In the Name of the Rose) and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, which I’m halfway through, is a confounding read. On the nonfiction side I liked Eat, Drink and Be Healthy, How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It (a survivalist guide) and the Steve Jobs biography by Walter Isaacson.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a lot of words…now of you divide it by 365 by 24 by 60, it is still a lot of words…

    ficfaq

    December 22, 2011 at 7:52 PM

  2. Weighing reading habits is a tricky thing, everyone has their own scale to go by. Honestly I think the best way is by judging how ofter you get wholly absorbed in a book, and your peripheral drops away and it is just you and the book. That scale though is nearly impossible to measure. I’d probably end up going with a book count, or a time spent reading count.

    bibliopirate

    December 22, 2011 at 7:55 PM

  3. I think i have read less this year…i hope i get the reading bug.

    Jeyna Grace

    December 22, 2011 at 10:18 PM


Leave a Reply

