camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Bicycling finale

leave a comment »

70ºF on November 1st — I didn’t expect such nice weather this late in the year. I took my usual route along the trails for what may be the final time of 2011. The trails in George Wyth and Black Hawk Parks were covered in dry crunchy leaves. 17.67 miles today, for about 1,170 miles for the year. Not too shabby.

I used to keep track of my daily mileage on a spreadsheet I kept at work. I had one page for daily/weekly/monthly miles biked and another for daily/weekly/monthly miles ran. I stopped keeping track of the numbers in early September. I looked over the data I had been compiling since January 2009 and I couldn’t give myself a good reason for continuing it. Adding numbers to the charts just felt like a chore or duty, with no tangible reward. I really didn’t care about the precise number of miles ran or bicycled on a particular day, or how fast I had run, or how many calories I had burned. They’re just numbers.

Since then, I just run or bicycle whatever distance I feel like that day, with no daily or weekly goal in mind. For running, it’s usually 3 to 6 miles, unless I’m pressed for time and can only get in a quick 2-mile run to/from Pfeiffer Park. I suppose if I ever get my 5K running time below 26 minutes again I’ll brag about it, but don’t count on that happening anytime soon. I don’t keep track of any bicycling data aside from the annual odometer, although if I go on a particularly long ride (for me that would be over 25 miles) I’d probably take note of it.

Written by camcarlson

November 1, 2011 at 7:27 PM

Posted in Bicycling, Running

Leave a Reply

