camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

One in, two out.

leave a comment »

My previous cell phone, the Motorola ROKR, was obtained through Verizon in July 2007. The battery had diminished in capacity to the point where a five-minute phone call would kill it. Since I used the phone as my morning alarm clock, I had to plug it in every night lest it mysteriously go “dead” and I fail to awake on time (which has happened on more than one occasion).

Also, as I mentioned in my previous entry, my digital camera, obtained in November 2006, died on me in May. I’ve been relying on a bulky, AA-battery-powered Samsung dinosaur ever since.

So when Apple announced the iPhone 4S, I finally gave serious thought towards upgrading from a dumbphone to a smartphone. The built-in camera looks impressive – 8 megapixels with a backlit sensor and five-element lens – and I was able to order it at a considerable discount through Verizon as I’m far outside of my previous contract. Also, as an indirect Ally Financial employee, I receive a sizable discount on each month’s bill, reducing the nonsensical prices being charged for even the lowest voice/text/data plan.

It arrived Friday afternoon and I’ve been using it all weekend. I’m hooked. This is an incredibly nifty device! I haven’t set up the Email program or transferred bookmarks or any music/videos yet. I’ll tinker with those things later this week.

Don’t cry MacBook, I still love you… one of the big selling points for the iPhone over any of the Android-powered phones is the effortless syncing between the two devices.

So now I have a new toy to play with, and it assists my uncluttering efforts by not only replacing two things (the ROKR and the Samsung) with one thing, but by performing the tasks of each device in a far more superior manner.

Check out that low-light quality! (see if you can spot Cory and Ben in this picture)

Written by camcarlson

October 16, 2011 at 8:36 PM

Posted in Apple

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

