camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Autumn movie roundup

leave a comment »

Films seen over the past couple weeks:

“Wet Hot American Summer” – I despised this movie. Moronic, unfunny sketch comedy. I wanted to stop the DVD multiple times during its too-long 90-minute running time. I ended up fast-forwarding through the last 30 minutes. I could count the number of times I laughed on one hand and have fingers to spare.

“28 Weeks Later” – I saw this movie once before, in the theater, back in 2007. I love its predecessor, “28 Days Later”. This one is alright. The opening scene is pretty good, especially the shot of the father running to the dock with the zombies pursuing him over the top of the hill. And they find an ingenious way to kill a pack of zombies with a helicopter. Cast includes Jeremy Renner before his leading turn in “The Hurt Locker”.

“Valhalla Rising” – “Drive” director Nicolas Winding Refn’s 2009 film about a mute warrior named One Eye who joins a band of Viking crusaders whose Jerusalem-bound ship gets lost in a fog and redirected to the New World. Artistic, quiet, slow paced, extremely bloody and violent. My kind of movie!

“Moneyball” – a quieter and slower-paced movie than what I was expecting, but I liked it nonetheless. Brad Pitt as Billy Beane, GM for the Oakland A’s, responsible for building a playoff-worthy team on a shoestring budget. He resorts to mathematical models developed by a young Yale Econ major (Jonah Hill). It’s not a typical baseball movie… it’s more about a man’s drive to see new theories put to the test on the field against a century-plus of scouting tradition and intuition. The trading scene in Beane’s office is my favorite of the film — Pitt’s comedic timing has always been grossly underrated.

Tonight I’m watching the director’s cut of “Das Boot” on DVD. Plenty of setup features to choose from… I set it on the English dubbed soundtrack as opposed to its native German so that I could listen to it while scanning some magazines that have been piling up.

Written by camcarlson

October 3, 2011 at 8:57 PM

Leave a Reply

