camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

best of intentions

leave a comment »

I try not to make plans for the weekend aside from one or two important things I want to accomplish. I find that if I plan more than a couple things on any given day (Friday afternoon/Saturday/Sunday), the plans tend to fall to shit.

Take today for example: I told myself I was going to get to bed on Friday night at a reasonable hour so I could get plenty of sleep and still wake up well before noon, and then spend the morning applying a second coat of primer to the bathroom drywall and then hit the gym for an hour while it dried.

Well, I did get to sleep before midnight, and I did get plenty of sleep — I actually woke up at 6:30, well before sunrise, rolled over and went back to sleep — but by the time I woke up again and crawled out of bed, I didn’t think I had enough time to get all the painting in before the arbitrary deadline of noon, so I didn’t do any painting at all. In fact, I didn’t set foot outside the apartment until 1pm.

But I did get in some weightlifting at the gym after dinner, and I spent a few hours reading at the library and at Coffee Hell. And I donated a box of miscellaneous items to St. Vincent (but I came home to realize I left behind the wire wastebasket I meant to take with). Next time…

So I’ll try to get up a little earlier tomorrow and get the painting done before lunch. Then maybe a movie in the afternoon, an hour of running, pick up groceries for the week… dammit, I’m making plans again.

Written by camcarlson

October 1, 2011 at 7:56 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

