camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Light Up the Night

leave a comment »

So last night I was at the Panther Lounge, somehow turning one free drink token into two free bottles of Newcastle and three free shots, and as I was leaving a group of cyclists approached me in the parking lot asking if I knew where the “night ride” was. There are a number of night rides hosted by various groups throughout the summer, but the one the draws the most people is the annual ride hosted by the Cedar Trails Partnership. I’ve never partaken but I assumed it would begin and/or end somewhere downtown, so I offered to show them the way, even though I just wanted to go home.

So we rode up alongside 58 and then up State St to the Parkade, and I let them cross at Main while I passed underneath on the trail and crossed on the west side. Some band was playing rock music from the shelter at Gateway Park and there were 40 to 50 cyclists mulling around. An interesting sight.

Even more interesting were the multitude of illuminated white paper lunch bags lining Bike Lake Loop, all around Big Woods Lake and down E Main back to Gateway Park. This is where the night ride was taking place. I fell in behind a group of riders and followed them around. The combination of the bags on the ground and the nearly full moon made for an enjoyable Saturday night ride. I’ll have to do it again next year.

Written by camcarlson

August 14, 2011 at 10:50 PM

Leave a Reply

