camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

The heat is on

leave a comment »

Kept busy this past weekend. Friday afternoon was spent running a 5K for the first time in a month. 27:37. My lungs hated me and my legs ached the next day. Rode through the rain to the PL after dinner, right as Cory and Cara pulled up to the front door. We shared a drink, they left, Ben and his sister arrived, we shared a few drinks, they left, I had another and returned home. Inexplicably ordered and ate an entire medium sausage & mushroom pizza all by myself while watching the first hour of “Harry Potter 7.1”.

Saturday — woke up slightly hung over (I’m realizing it doesn’t take much anymore to make me feel loopy the morning after), took care of laundry, then bicycled to Waterloo in the sweltering afternoon heat for a pre-wedding party courtesy Andrea’s friend Alyssa. The usual rogue’s gallery attended. We kept to the shade outdoors while the parents loafed about in the a/c indoors. Drinks, chitchat, pork sandwiches, throwing games and sand volleyball (on Olympic-quality sand, no less!) before sunset, then more drinks and a twisted marathon game of Apples to Apples. Called it a night around midnight. Took a much-needed shower before crashing.

Sunday — got a good night’s sleep. Did a bit of reading/notetaking, watched the sky darken and listening to a quickly-passing thunderstorm roll through. Bicycled to Mulligans to watch the Women’s World Cup finals match w/ Andrea, Robert and Micah. The U.S. lost to Japan during an overtime kickoff. Returned home, realized I had nothing to do for the rest of the night, went to Hy-Vee for groceries, made an impromptu decision to see if I could get into the next screening of “Harry Potter 7.2”, which was surprisingly not sold out, went into the theater and took a seat in the same row as Katya and her parents, who yelled at me to come join them, which I did. Very good movie — more on it later. Went home, watched the rest of “HP 7.1”, did a bit of reading and went to bed.

This week: it’s hot. Very hot. Mid- to upper-nineties with heat indices well over  100-110ºF. The humidity is insufferable. I limited myself to only 12 miles of bicycling today. I think I’ll spend most of the week focused on running… indoors… in the air-conditioned gym. The weather will hopefully be better next week, but my partner at work will be gone and I predict a lot of overtime for myself. Some relief the following week: potentially some new people in my department, and a short workweek before I leave for my vacation.

Written by camcarlson

July 18, 2011 at 9:09 PM

Posted in Bicycling, Cinema, Running

Leave a Reply

