camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Summer Movie Malaise

leave a comment »

I got to thinking how summer movies, by and large, don’t entertain me anymore. There are only a few movies I’m looking forward to this summer: “The Tree of Life”, “Super 8” and the final Harry Potter installment. Otherwise, I don’t care for what’s out right now and I don’t see anything on the horizon that trips my trigger.

This is, in part, the fault of the studios. The summer has turned into a money-making machine, bankrolled on the hopes that an endless line of sequels, prequels and remakes will shore up Hollywood’s bottom line by year-end. Ebert wrote a nice article for the Daily Beast about this summer’s record 27 sequels:

…there will be the highest number of fourth sequels ever: Mission: Impossible—Ghost Protocol; Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides; Scream 4; Spy Kids 4: All the Time in the World; and The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn (Part One), with its own sequel set for 2012. […] This year includes five fifth sequels (Fast Five; Final Destination 5; Puss in Boots; X-Men: First Class; Winnie the Pooh), two seventh sequels (The Muppets; Rise of the Apes), and the eighth Harry Potter movie (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two), itself a sequel.

Okay, now that I’m reminded, I am kinda tempted by the new “Apes” movie…

For now, I rely on Hulu, Crackle, YouTube and Classiccinemaonline to provide free streaming films, as well as Archive.org for copyright-free silent and foreign films I wouldn’t find anywhere else.

Once I’ve exhausted those resources, I’m going to look into a Roku player and subscribing to Netflix and Hulu Plus — I found out last week the latter has nearly every Criterion-issued DVD available for hi-def streaming. Dozens of films that have lingered on my film list for years finally at my fingertips!

Written by camcarlson

May 30, 2011 at 8:35 PM

Posted in Cinema

Leave a Reply

