camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

The Order of the Phoenix

leave a comment »

I’ve embarked on reading all seven Harry Potter novels, and re-watching the first seven films, before the final film comes out in July. Knowing the later books in the series were longer than the first few, I wanted to give myself plenty of time to read them. Now it seems I’m way ahead of schedule — I intended to have Books 4 and 5 read by the end of May, but with yesterday’s continuous downpour and today’s cool breezy temps I was able to plow through more than half of Book 5, giving myself over seven weeks to finish the last two. So now I’m going to intentionally go slow with Book 6, since my weeklong vacation is coming up and I’ll need something (Book 7) to read while I’m outside every day.

My impression so far is that the books are excellent reads, but incredibly long. I can’t remember ever reading a book that was 870 pages when I was a kid. The entire Chronicles of Narnia series was a mere 750 pages long. I’m going to tally up the HP series when I’m done… that and the Naria books will put me on pace of having done more reading in five months than in any other comparable period in my entire life.

Written by camcarlson

May 15, 2011 at 11:36 PM

Posted in Literature

Leave a Reply

