camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Movie binge 3/31-4/3

leave a comment »

Thursday afternoon I watched “Exit Through The Gift Shop”. There are a few street artists who seems to have real talent; otherwise I think most of it is crap. Banksy’s work is visually appealing and stylish. The work put out by Mr. Brainwash, Banksy’s supposed protégé (or Banksy himself?) is assembly-line dreck. This entire doc came off as a real put-on, which is how I view most modern art – a very sad state of affairs, given the true talent out there.

Banksy (?) vs. Mr. Brainwash

Friday night Ben and I watched “Natural Born Killers”. Rodney Dangerfield’s finest role.

Saturday I watched “The Station Agent”, a wonderful independent film from 2003 with Peter Dinklage as the new owner of a rundown train depot in Nowhere NJ. He tries his best to keep to himself but is eventually drawn into the lives of a chatty Cuban-American coffee-truck operator and a grieving artist. This is one of those entertaining movies that focuses more on the characters and how they interact and less on any story or plot. Great movie for an idle afternoon.

Sunday I watched “The Battle of Algiers”. What happened in Algeria in the 1950s is being repeated all over the Middle East today: Tunisia, Egypt, Libya, Yemen, Bahrain, Syria, etc. The brutal Colonel Mathieu bears a striking resemblance to the equally brutal Colonel Quaritch from “Avatar”

Col. Mathieu vs. Col. Quaritch

Sunday afternoon I saw “Source Code”, a pretty good sci-fi thriller. It’s heavy on the science fiction, more so than most modern sci-fi films, a fact I appreciated. I can’t say I was able to follow every logical twist and turn the plot threw at me, but I didn’t care: the suspense kept my attention. First good movie I’ve seen in 2011.

Sunday night I rented “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World”. I liked it, and I admired the creativity of weaving in classic videogame sound effects and soundtracks (like music from Zelda: A Link to the Past) as well as animation based on the source material. It entertained, and made me laugh on occasion, and that’s all I wanted out of it. Bravo.

Written by camcarlson

April 4, 2011 at 9:28 PM

Posted in Cinema

Leave a Reply

