camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

EyeTV conversion

with one comment

Last weekend I picked up Micah’s EyeTV conversion box and have spent the past few days digitizing several VHS cassettes. A few of those cassettes were hodgepodges of various television programs from the 80s and 90s. Part of the joy of watching them again was the commercials and one classy promo spot for the KWWL news at ten, circa May 1988. I’d post it on YouTube if I could figure out how to reduce it from its current 9 MB file size.

My VHS film collection had dwindled from a hundred titles several years ago to only a couple dozen as of this year, but after some reflection I decided I wasn’t going to watch a grainy fullscreen version of any movie when a high-quality widescreen version could be seen via Netflix or other online streaming sites. The only films I digitized were the ones not available in Region 1: “Breaking the Waves”, “Song of the South”, “Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!” and “Mudhoney”. I also digitized the 90s MTV cartoon series “The Maxx” as the VHS copy contains a song whose copyright was not extended to the DVD version (a trivial concern, but what the heck).

I bagged up the VHS cassettes and will drop them off at StVdP this weekend. I’m going to try to find a good home for the Orion VCR that has served me well since December 1999, otherwise it’s heading to StVdP as well.

Written by camcarlson

March 31, 2011 at 8:23 PM

Posted in Simplicity

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I digitally converted all my family’s old VHS home movies, I too find quite a few entertaining commercials. I actually went so far as to create a commercials folder where I stored the best ones I found. Your post made me recall this folder, and the 100+ commercials just made for a solid hour of viewing.

    Micah

    April 12, 2011 at 8:25 PM


Leave a Reply

