camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

5K acceleration

leave a comment »

Since November I’ve been stuck running on the treadmill at the gym. Nowhere near as enjoyable as running along the riverside trail, but I can’t find it in my (yet) to huff frigid air in and out of my lungs. So I’ve been working on reducing my 5K time while I’m indoors. With the comfort of a timer in front of me, a steady pace, and a shelf to place my water bottle and sweat rag, I’ve gone from between 29-30 minutes at Thanksgiving to under 29 minutes at New Years and breaking the 28-minute barrier last month.

Last night I did it in 26:48. And to my own amazement, I wasn’t as winded at the end as I thought I would be. Now my goal is to break 26 minutes by April 15 and 25 minutes by June 1.

Written by camcarlson

March 1, 2011 at 7:07 PM

Posted in Running

Leave a Reply

