camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

83rd Academy Awards

leave a comment »

First of all, let me say that I’ve been watching the Oscar telecast since 1996, when Mel Gibson’s “Braveheart” won Best Picture (I remember his acceptance speech for Best Director), and this year’s ceremony was the worst of the lot. By far. James Franco and Anne Hathaway are both talented actors but they are clearly not suited for hosting this show. To cop a criticism: “James Franco was high as giraffe’s pussy the whole night”. Please, Academy board of directors, do whatever it takes to bring back Billy Crystal. Please!

That having been said, I correctly guessed 15 of 21 categories. Not my best showing. The most embarrassing miss came in the Best Director category. I assumed (foolishly) that the Academy voters would split the vote between Best Picture and Best Director, given the strong support for both “The King’s Speech” and “The Social Network”. My assumption was based on the fact that the majority of the DGA voters are television directors, where Tom Hooper is better known, and that David Fincher beat him at the BAFTAs. Given that Hooper is a half-Brit, that’s a bit of a shock. But not enough of a shock to overcome the DGA’s rather excellent 90%+ prediction rate.

David Fincher still made the better film of the year. But that’s my personal opinion.

Of my other five missteps, I ignored the “Alice in Wonderland” remake in both the Art Direction and Costume Design categories. Upon reflection, Tim Burton film almost always win these categories when they are nominated. Something to keep in mind for future predictions.

I assumed “The King’s Speech” would have more of a sweep than it did. It missed the two aforementioned categories, as did Geoffrey Rush for Best Supporting Actor. I actually thought Christian Bale deserved the award more than the other four nominees and should have picked him against conventional wisdom. My bad.

I also assumed the “TKS” wave would capture Best Original Score, which it didn’t. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross won instead for “TSN” for their very modern soundtrack. Another well deserved win, and one I wholeheartedly support.

Yesterday I said I was fully prepared to see “Inception” win for Best Cinematography, and that’s what happened. Poor Roger Deakins, and poor “True Grit”, which received 10 nominations but walked away empty handed.

So all that silliness is now over with for another several months. There are a few films from 2010 I still want to see. Otherwise, it’s a quiet waiting game through this summer. Slim pickings on the radar, aside from “Win Win”, “Cold Weather”, “Meek’s Cutoff” and “The Tree of Life”.

One final note — Melissa Leo rules, both on screen and off. Go see her on “Frozen River”. Now.

Written by camcarlson

February 28, 2011 at 11:08 PM

Posted in Cinema

Leave a Reply

