miscellaneous commentary

Cuarteto Casals with Andreas Klein

with one comment

Last Sunday I was treated to a performance by Cuarteto Casals with Andreas Klein at the GBPAC. They performed three pieces, with an intermission between the second and third. The second piece was String Quartet No. 1, “Metamorphoses Nocturnes” by György Ligeti. I am by no means educated sufficiently in classical music to render any kind of thoughtful analysis, but I will say that I greatly enjoyed the music and the performance. Some segments reminded me of themes from horror films: suspenseful and haunting in equal measures. The only previous exposure I have to Ligeti’s music is his Musica Ricercata II, used in Kubrick’s “Eyes Wide Shut”.

Here is a different quartet performing part of Ligeti’s piece:


Written by camcarlson

February 21, 2011 at 10:12 PM

Posted in Cedar Valley, video

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. aren’t you mr. culture? 🙂

    I’m glad you liked Ligeti. There are some great pieces by him…he’s a really fascinating composer.


    February 22, 2011 at 10:29 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: