camcarlson

miscellaneous commentary

Oscar predictions part 3: other awards/support

leave a comment »

I was going to write a third entry about Oscar predictions, etc., but I lost steam. That and I’ve been preoccupied these past couple weeks. By the time I finally get around to writing what I intended to write, I find someone else has not only done so but has done it better than I could have. So rather than plagiarize, I will momentarily redirect your attention to
this link.

The only thing I’ll add is the predicting power of Vegas oddsmakers. Over the past 10 years they’ve correctly guessed the eventual winner 7 times. They missed with “Traffic” in 2000, “Brokeback Mountain” in 2005 and “Avatar” last year. This year, when the nominations were announced, they favored “The Social Network” 2:3 over “The King’s Speech” at 5:2. However, I believe tide has turned in favor of TKS, and the current published odds reflect this as well.

Next weekend I will post my predictions.

Written by camcarlson

February 20, 2011 at 6:44 PM

Posted in Cinema

Leave a Reply

